Category: Satire

  • Old Masters: A Comedy (Phoenix Fiction)

    By Thomas Bernhard, Ewald Osers

    In this exuberantly satirical novel, the coach Atzbacher has been
    summoned via his pal Reger to satisfy him in a Viennese museum. whereas
    Reger gazes at a Tintoretto portrait, Atzbacher—who fears Reger's
    plans to kill himself—gives us a portrait of the musicologist: his
    wisdom, his devotion to his spouse, and his love-hate courting with
    art. With ordinarily acerbic wit, Bernhard exposes the
    pretensions and aspirations of humanity in a singular right now pessimistic
    and unusually exhilarating.

    Show description

  • Exterminator!

    Conspirators plot to blow up a educate wearing nerve fuel. an ideal servant without warning finds himself to be the insidious Dr. Fu Manchu. Science-fantasy wars, racism, company capitalism, drug dependancy, and diverse clinical and psychiatric horrors all play their components during this mosaiclike, experimental novel. this is William S. Burroughs at his coruscating and hilarious top.
    Show description

  • Pocket Kings

    By Ted Heller

    In this dead-on satire of on-line obsessions, a novelist with writer’s block unearths a new—and very lucrative—stream of source of revenue in a digital international that looks to provide him every little thing he lacks within the actual world.

    When Frank Dixon, a annoyed author who has visible his profession crash and burn, comes to a decision to dabble in on-line poker, he discovers he has a knack for successful. during this newfound realm, populated by means of desirable characters—each of them elusive, mysterious, and glamorous—he turns into a destroy good fortune: renowned, wealthy, and enjoyed. Going through the identify Chip 0, he sees his fortunes and romantic liaisons thrive in our on-line world whereas he is still ignorant of the truth that his actual existence is sinking. His on-line good fortune, in spite of the fact that, doesn't come with no problems, as he involves detect that his “virtual” pals and fanatics are, in reality, very actual, and one rival participant isn't really in any respect chuffed that Mr. 0 has taken all his money.

    Heller’s cautionary story is consistently magnificent and startlingly actual, a journey de strength of satirical storytelling within the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Sam Lipsyte.

    Show description

  • The Bear Went Over the Mountain: A Novel (Owl Book)

    By William Kotzwinkle

    Once upon a time in rural Maine, a tremendous black endure came upon a briefcase lower than a tree. Hoping for nutrients, he dragged it into the woods, in basic terms to discover that every one it held used to be the manuscript of a singular. He could not consume it, yet he did learn it, and made up our minds it wasn't undesirable. Borrowing a few outfits from an area shop, and the identify Hal Jam from the labels of his favourite meals he headed to manhattan to hunt his fortune within the literary world.

    Then he took the United States by way of storm.

    The undergo Went Over the Mountain
    is a riotous, magical romp with the buoyant Hal Jam as he leaves the quiet, nurturing global of nature for the glittering, moneyed international of guy. With a pitch-perfect comedian voice and one eye on social satire to rival fast or Wolfe, bestselling writer William Kotzwinkle limns Hal's hilarious trip to manhattan, l. a., and the nice sprawling kingdom in among, the place a undergo makes solid regardless of his natural tendencies, and the place money-hungry executives see now not a bushy beast with a purloined novel, yet a rough-hewn, soulful, media-perfect nature man who simply will be the following Hemingway.

    through turns sidesplittingly humorous, stingingly ironic, and all at once smooth, The endure Went Over the Mountain captures the zeitgeist of the Nineteen Nineties dead-on, in a scrumptious bedtime tale for grown-ups.
    Show description

  • Leap Year

    By Peter Cameron

    It really is 1988, simply years clear of "the decade of friendship," and there's nonetheless time at the clock for all of the greed and wish of the 80s to wreak havoc at the lives of this ensemble solid of distressed yet endearing New Yorkers.

    With razor sharp wit and nice comedian invention, bissextile year charts the uneasy paths humans take round the actual and emotional land mines of urban lifestyles. The rating of quirky characters ricochet backward and forward among downtown lofts, artwork galleries, overall healthiness golf equipment, eating places -- even a sperm financial institution -- within the try and detect reputation, fortune, and actual love.

    In this bissextile year, even though, every thing turns out a little bit awry, as unforeseen affairs, an unintentional kidnapping, catering mess ups, homicide, and a regrettable volume of undesirable exposure turns everyone's lives the wrong way up. Peter Cameron's bissextile year is a comic book valentine to a frenzied period, serving up the lusts and laments of a whole iteration with nice wit and affection.

    With its huge and full of life solid of homosexual and instantly characters, intercalary year is a comic book satire with an identical allure as Armistad Maupin's Tales of the City novels.

    The many fanatics of Peter Cameron's significant novels The Weekend and Andorra now give you the chance to learn the lengthy out-of-print debut novel of 1 of America's best writers.
    Show description

  • Tik-Tok

    By John Sladek

    Whatever has long gone very heavily improper with Tik-Tok's "asimov circuits." they need to preserve him at the directly and slim, following Asimov's first legislations of robotics: A robotic shall no longer injure a person, or via state of being inactive permit a individual to return to hurt. yet, that's no longer what's occurring. even though everything appears to be like wonderful from the outside, and Tik-Tok continues the outward visual appeal of a mild-mannered robotic, his time table is murderously various. And, it's not only due to his creative trends and sympathy for the robotic rights stream, both. This witty chronicle of 1 irregular machine-man, and his dealings with an collection of deranged and maniacal people, really showcases the satirical genius of John Sladek.

    From the Uploader: Retail-ish EPUB, has TOC & bankruptcy links
    Show description

  • A Man of the People

    By Chinua Achebe

    Via the well known writer of Things Fall Apart, this novel foreshadows the Nigerian coups of 1966 and exhibits the colour and vivacity in addition to the violence and corruption of a society making its personal manner among the 2 worlds.
    Show description

  • Good Book: The Bizarre, Hilarious, Disturbing, Marvelous, and Inspiring Things I Learned When I Read Every Single Word of the Bible

    By David Plotz


    At a time while wars are fought over scriptural interpretation, whilst the impact of faith on American politics hasn't ever been higher, while many americans nonetheless think within the Bible’s literal fact, it hasn't ever been extra vital to get to understand the Bible. Good Book is what occurs while a typical guy—an ordinary Job—actually reads the e-book on which his faith, his tradition, and his international are dependent. alongside the way in which, he grapples with the main profound theological questions: what number commandments will we really need? Does God want obedience or sturdy deeds? And the main unforeseen ones: Why are such a lot of girls within the Bible prostitutes? Why does God love bald males quite a bit? Is Samson relatively that silly?
    Show description

  • After the Saucers Landed

    By Douglas Lain

    NOMINATED FOR THE 2016 PHILIP okay. DICK AWARD

    “When the alien will get round to unzipping her jumpsuit it’ll be most unlikely to determine what’s underneath.”

    UFOlogist Harold Flint is heartbroken and depressed that the extraterrestrial beings that experience landed at the White apartment garden seem to be immediately out of an outdated B motion picture. They wave to the tv cameras of their sequined jumpsuits, shape a nonprofit association delivering new age enlightenment, and hover their saucers over the streets of recent York searching for converts.

    Harold desires no a part of this kitschy invasion till one of many extraterrestrial beings, a gorgeous blonde named Asket, begs him to enquire the saucers back and write one other flying saucers ebook. The extraterrestrial beings and their undertaking aren't as they seem.

    Asket isn’t who she turns out both. monitoring down her precise character leads Harold and his cowriter via a maze of id and body-swapping insanity, descending into paranoia as Harold realizes that fact, or at the very least humanity’s notion of it, could be extra versatile than somebody will admit.

    After the Saucers Landed is a deeply unsettling experimental satire, putting writer Douglas Lain along contemporaries like Jeff VanderMeer and Charles Yu as one in every of his generation’s most fun and tough speculative fiction voices.

    Skyhorse Publishing, below our evening color and Talos imprints, is proud to submit a extensive diversity of titles for readers attracted to technology fiction (space opera, time trip, difficult SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), myth (grimdark, sword and sorcery, modern city fable, steampunk, replacement history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and lots more and plenty extra. whereas now not each name we submit turns into a New York Times bestseller, a countrywide bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we're devoted to publishing caliber books from a various staff of authors.
    Show description

  • The Mouse on Wall Street

    By Leonard Wibberley

    By no means has "the cash game" been extra deliciously uncovered than during this creative comedy-satire. Grand Fenwick's mystery weapon this time is its Grand Pinot chewing gum. on the end of its successful conflict opposed to the U.S., the duchy had lodged production rights to the product in an American corporation, the place that they had lain dormant. yet now the anti-smoking crusade is in complete tilt, gum revenues have boomed, and Grand Fenwick gets a payment, unheralded and undesirable, for a million dollars-its forty consistent with cent proportion of the 1st annual revenue. What consternation! For definitely not anything strong may end up from the inflow of these unneeded cash into the tidy economic system of Grand Fenwick (15 sq. miles; 5000 souls). And certainly the consternation is definitely based. 365 days later, the ills of inflation already afflicting each Grand Fenwickian, excessive or low, Conservative or hard work, the revenue fee isn't really 1000000 cash, yet ten million. Now simply the benign Gloriana XII can shop her humans, and proposal is the same as the perilous second. opting for to lose the money by means of making an investment it on Wall road, she closes her eyes-a vintage method-and jabs on the monetary web page together with her embroidery needle. Then, having airmailed off to the States a purchase for inventory within the corporation her needle has skewered, she settles again with ease and expectantly to her embroidery. basically Gloriana XII is not any monetary genius, and, after all, her scheme is going awry. yet simply how so is an issue for Mr. Wibberley's risible ingenuity and for his readers. Suffice it to claim right here that mergers merge, conglomerates conglomerate, and in the end the entire funds markets of the area start to wobble. For what if Grand Fenwick may still liquidate its billions-yes, they're billions now-of American resources and insist cost in gold?
    Show description